The Nyssa factory is home to a very iconic sign promoting White Satin Sugar. Throughout the years, the sign has changed with Amalgamated Sugar. The sign remains a landmark today and is cherished in the Nyssa community.
The sign was built in 1955 as part of Amalgamated Sugar’s efforts to expand retail sales into the Pacific Northwest market. The promotion of “Oregon’s Own and Only Sugar” was an important part of Amalgamated Sugar’s success in the mid-1900s.
The Nyssa sign was updated in the early 1960s following the adoption of a new logo and package design. The new bag was labeled as an “easy-open, easy-close” package that showcased the “magic sugar bowl.”
The most recent change to the sign occurred in the late 1990s when Amalgamated Sugar was purchased by Snake River Sugar Company, a grower-owned cooperative. Currently, the sign displays a more modern White Satin bag. Not only has the depicted sugar bag changed significantly, but the company’s ownership as well. The current sign now reads:
The Amalgamated Sugar Co. LLC